HOW I ALMOST DIED AT THE GREAT WALL

This is an important PSA about how important exercise is because I almost passed out on a set of steep mountain steps trying to get to the Great Wall. I’m almost positive that if I hadn’t been living in Thailand where the only mode of transportation I have is a bicycle I would have gone into cardiac arrest. Lesson learned: I need to work out or something.

Now that I’m done my PSA let me tell you about how awesome the Great Wall was! Despite my legs feeling like jello after the walk up, around the wall, and down the mountain I really enjoyed the wall. The tour was booked via my hostel to the Mutianyu Great Wall, which was an hour out of Beijing from the hostel. The day was beautiful, not that smoggy so the sky was clear (made for great photos). The tour also included lunch (thank the goddess) which was very much-needed after the calories I’m sure I killed walking around. Of course, if you wanted to shell out the 100RMB you could also take the cable car, I was just trying to save money. Also, there were a lot of random people wanting to take pictures with me (as seen above), I felt like a celebrity!

The wall itself was spectacular, it’s a wonder it took them so long to build it! Generations of families built the wall and it is truly an amazing thing to be able to say. What I wasn’t expecting was how much the wall follows along the mountain range. It was very steep to go up and down steps in some sections, but it was very well-kept up in those places. I even saw people working on the wall doing little repairs. Just imagine 360 views, mountains all over, a small town nestled on either side of the wall completing the picture. It was one of the most beautiful sights I’ve encountered so far in my travels. It’s hard to describe, so I hope the photos are a sufficient enough visual to understand the scope of how amazing it was. I definitely recommend that if you plan to travel to China (especially after you deal with the visa) that you go to the Great Wall. It is well worth the trouble of getting the Chinese visa, trust me.

What’s important to remember is that not the whole wall is tourist friendly or “new” as the tour guide liked to say. The “old” wall is apparently covered in flora and fauna and can be dangerous. Despite that, the tour guide kept saying that if you were adventurous to try to make it to the “old” sections of the wall. All sections are marked with numbers on the map, but once you’re on the wall the really aren’t signs. If I can remember correctly, the cable car at the Mutianyu wall is at tower 14 and if you climb the mountain you are at tower 10. The older sections begin around tower 20 through 26 I think. I recommend if you are normally physically active or a hiker to do this, if you aren’t it might be safer to stay where it’s clear. I hope you enjoy the wall as much I did no matter what you decide!

Safe travels.

the Wanderlyng

Leave a comment